Air Cargo Management

“People, Planet and Prosperity”: TIACA launches membership inclusivity initiative

The International Air Cargo Association (TIACA) has launched an initiative to attract more members from countries classed by the United Nations (UN) as ‘least developed’.

The not-for-profit association’s board of directors has approved a discount on membership dues for companies headquartered in these countries.

Members and applicants will receive a 75 per cent discount for the first year of membership. Thereafter, members will receive a 50 per cent discount while their country retains the UN designation.

“We talk a lot about ‘People, Planet and Prosperity’. With this initiative we are taking action,” said TIACA’s director general Glyn Hughes.

“We needed to make the membership dues affordable to those who might not normally afford them and this way we can increase inclusivity.

“By doing this, we are creating an equal opportunity for companies from these countries to join the association and network with the international air cargo community.”

TIACA’s chairman Steven Polmans added: “Our industry must support the growth of these air cargo communities for the betterment of our entire industry.

“By supporting them, we will do our part to helping make these communities more prosperous as air cargo is a key enabler for economic growth.

“TIAC’s programmes will also benefit considerably as diverse perspectives reflecting different market realities will help contribute significantly to our development.”

The countries currently identified by the UN as ‘least developed’ – as of 11 February 2021 – are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Kiribati
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Yemen
  • Zambia

Sign In

Lost your password?